Elden Ring Multiplayer Functionality Getting Upgrades, Servers Going Offline Tomorrow

Elden Ring

Elden Ring’s servers will be down tomorrow at specific times, according to FromSoftware, “to help improve various multiplayer functions.” Many Elden Ring users have complained about troubles with the game’s multiplayer feature, particularly while playing in co-op mode with friends. This is on top of a slew of concerns about PC performance.

Here is a list of server downtime by platform and location.

PlayStation maintenance:

3:00am-4:00am CET
11:00am-12:00pm JST
6:00pm-7:00pm PST (Feb 28)

Steam Maintenance:

5:00am-6:00am CEST
1:00pm-2:00pm JST
8:00pm-9:00pm PST (Feb 28)

Xbox maintenance:

4:00am-5:00am CET
12:00pm-1:00pm JST
7:00pm-8:00pm PST (Feb 28)

Elden Ring’s single-player and multiplayer performance will be improved iteratively over time, according to both Bandai Namco and FromSoft. Hopefully, future patches will be able to improve FromSoft’s maiden effort into an open-world Dark Souls game thanks to these server-side improvements.

Elden Ring’s multiplayer features, such as co-op, PvP, and communications, will be disabled while the servers are down. However, you should be able to play the game in offline mode.

After launch, Xbox users were hit the worst by Elden Ring’s multiplayer glitches. A version mismatch fault on the Xbox platform stopped users from performing anything that required an online connection, instead displaying the dreaded “Network Status Check Failed” warning. With yesterday’s 1.05.1 release, Xbox Tarnished should be able to resume their trek into The Lands Between with a buddy (or foe).

Elden Ring is also having troubles with the Steam Deck, which was just launched. While PC performance concerns may be partly addressed with sufficient hardware, the Deck’s lower specifications magnify Elden Ring’s stuttering and low framerate. Because most Decks won’t be delivered until later in March, most Dark Souls players will be able to begin their Elden Ring journey with the smoothest possible experience, Valve confirmed that enhancements will be coming to the Deck sometime next week, which should substantially fix those difficulties.